Joyce Franklin

Joyce Franklin receives NFHS Citation

12 Leaders in High School Activity Programs to Receive NFHS Citations

INDIANAPOLIS, IN (January 22, 2019) — Twelve leaders in high school activity programs across the country have been selected to receive National Federation of State High School Associations (NFHS) Citations.

An award designed to honor individuals who have made contributions to the NFHS, state high school associations, athletic director and coaching professions, the officiating avocation and fine arts/performing arts programs, the NFHS Citation is one of the most highly regarded achievements in high school athletics and performing arts.

The 2019 NFHS Citation recipients will receive their awards July 1 at the 100th annual NFHS Summer Meeting in Indianapolis, Indiana.

Eight of the 12 award winners represent NFHS-member state high school associations, and four recipients represent NFHS professional organizations for officials, coaches, music leaders and speech/debate/theatre directors.

The eight state association recipients are Dick Durost, Section 1, executive director, Maine Principals’ Association; Jill Masterman, Section 2, program specialist, Maryland Public Secondary Schools Athletic Association; Joyce Franklin, Section 3, chief financial officer, Mississippi High School Activities Association;Chris Kaufman, Section 4, assistant commissioner, Indiana High School Athletic Association; Sue Carlsrud, Section 5, administrative assistant, North Dakota High School Activities Association; Dr. Joey Walters, Section 6, deputy executive director, Arkansas Activities Association; Diane Marshall-Freeman, Section 7, general counsel, California Interscholastic Federation; and Mike Colbrese, Section 8, executive director, Washington Interscholastic Activities Association.

The four Citation recipients representing the NFHS professional organizations are Dana Pappas, NFHS Officials Association, deputy director, New Mexico Activities Association; Tex Williams, NFHS Coaches Association, retired coach, St. Albans (West Virginia) High School; Dr. Gerald Kreitzer, NFHS Music Association, director of music activities, Mount Mercy University, Cedar Rapids, Iowa; and Gail Naylor, NFHS Speech/Debate/Theatre Association, retired director of debate/speech/theatre, Silver Lake (Kansas) High School.

Check Also

Vancleave wins 2024 MHSAA Class 5A Baseball Championship

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E Vancleave 0 1 2 0 …