2024 Lindy Callahan Scholar Athlete Winners Announced

Sixteen seniors from across the state have been selected as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for the Class of 2024.

Photo by Tim Ward

The honorees — one boy and one girl from each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities. The recipients were chosen by a committee made up of MHSAA partners and school administrators.

Each of the 16 winners will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners.

The Scholar-Athlete awards were launched in 1996 to honor Mr. Lindy Callahan, a long-time athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School and an eight-time Hall of Fame inductee.

District I:Maci Ruth Thomas, Mooreville High School
Christian Caleb Cockrell, Tupelo High School
District II:Abigail Constance Fassnacht, South Panola High School
John (Jack) Andrew Harper, Oxford High School
District III:JoSariah T. McCray, Leland High School
Dawson Taylor Moulder, Riverside High School
District IV:Tyriunna Keniah Steele, Louisville High School
Ethan Charles Bailey, Winona Secondary School
District V:Jaden Alyse Graham, Northeast Jones High School
Andrew Rase Jones, West Jones High School
District VI:Payton Harper Sanders, Pelahatchie High School
Anderson Keith Walker, McLaurin High School
District VII:Taylor Michele Jackson, Bogue Chitto School
Bryce C. Smith, Brookhaven High School
District VIII:Isabella Ann Mauritz, Sacred Heart High School
Asher Paul Henley, Vancleave High School

Check Also

Vancleave wins 2024 MHSAA Class 5A Baseball Championship

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E Vancleave 0 1 2 0 …