2023 Mr. Football Selections Announced

CLINTON – Recipients of the annual Mississippi Mr. Football award were selected on Thursday, November 9, in each of the Mississippi High School Activities Association’s seven classifications in conjunction with the Mississippi Association of Coaches. The winners were selected by a committee of high school coaches and members of the media state-wide.

In order of classification, the 2023 Mississippi Mr. Football award winners follow:

1A:  Gavin Griffin – Velma Jackson
2A:  Adarius McDougle – Sebastopol
3A:  Chase Richardson – Winona
4A:  William Echoles – Houston
5A:  Kahnen Daniels – West Point
6A:  Jamonta Waller – Picayune
7A:  Trey Petty – Starkville

Gavin Griffin

Class 1A
Gavin Griffin, RB, Velma Jackson
Griffin has paced an explosive offense that helped the Falcons to an undefeated regular season and the top spot in SBLive’s Class 1A rankings, rushing for 1,253 yards and 23 touchdowns. He also caught 15 passes for 300 yards and three more scores.

Adarius McDougle

Class 2A
Adarius McDougle, QB, Sebastopol
In nine regular-season games, McDougle has rushed for 1,697 yards and 31 touchdowns and completed half of his 68 pass attempts for 446 yards and five more scores. McDougle and the Bobcats averaged 34.9 points a game.

Chase Richardson

Class 3A
Chase Richardson, QB, Winona
Richardson has completed 109 of his 185 pass attempts for 1,774 yards with 21 touchdowns and just three interceptions. He added 853 yards and 11 touchdowns on the ground, going over the century mark in half of Winona’s 10 wins.

William Echoles

Class 4A
William Echoles, OL/DL, Houston
Echoles, a six-foot-4, 290-pound Ole Miss commit, finished the season with more than 25 pancake blocks on offense, and recorded 59 tackles — including 18 for a loss — and seven sacks on defense.

Kahnen Daniels

Class 5A
Kahnen Daniels, RB, West Point
Daniels, a University of Florida commit , has rushed for 1,930 yards on 189 carries with 21 touchdowns in 10 games. In a Green Wave offense bent on ball control, nobody controls the ball better.

Jamonta Waller

Class 6A
Jamonta Waller, TE/DE, Picayune
Waller, a 6-foot-2, 225-pound athlete may be the best blocking tight end in the state, but it’s his prowess on the defensive line. He recorded 56 total tackles, nine sacks, 19 stops behind the line, two forced fumbles and one blocked punt.

Trey Petty

Class 7A
Trey Petty, QB, Starkville
Petty, an Illinois commit, completed 128 of his 201 passes for 1,766 yards with 16 touchdowns and four interceptions this year. He added 728 rushing yards, averaging 12.3 yards a carry, with seven touchdowns.

An awards presentation ceremony will be conducted on Dec. 5 at the MHSAA office in Clinton.

Check Also

2024 MHSAA Composite Football Schedule

Date Time Event Type Home Away Location 07-31-2024 07:00 PM Exhibition South Pontotoc High School …