Lindy Callahan (right) with his wife Ann. Photo by Keith Warren

2023 Lindy Callahan Scholar Athlete Winners Selected

Sixteen seniors from across the state have been selected as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for the Class of 2023.

The honorees — one boy and one girl from each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities. The recipients were chosen by a committee made up of MHSAA partners and school administrators.

Each of the 16 winners will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners.

The Scholar-Athlete awards were launched in 1996 to honor Mr. Lindy Callahan, a long-time athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School and an eight-time Hall of Fame inductee.

District I:
Elijah Zane ChapmanNew Albany High School
Caitlyn Paige KingNew Site High School
District II:
Everett Kent JohnsonEast Union Attendance Center
Lindsey Elizabeth DillardIngomar Attendance Center
District III:
Kameron K. JenkinsLeland High School
Zoreya BeckworthAmanda Elzy High School
District IV:
Elijah Zaccheus RuffinNeshoba Central High School
Laney Dianne BoatnerNoxapater Attendance Center
District V:
Mitchell Lloyd ButlerNortheast Lauderdale High School
Brooke Nicole GibsonClarkdale High School
District VI:
Joseph Reece WelchPuckett High School
Kaitlyn J. WalkerClinton High School
District VII:
Grayson Cole CoatesWesson Attendance Center
Natalie Grace DeerNorth Pike High School
District VIII:
Braylon Lavon ColemanGautier High School
Stevie Elizabeth CookseyBay High School

Check Also

Stone Middle School – Football

Stone Middle School has a job vacancy for a Boys Football Assistant Middle School Coach. …