Lindy Callahan (right) with his wife Ann. Photo by Keith Warren

MHSAA announces Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for Class of 2021

Sixteen seniors from across the state have been selected as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for the Class of 2021.

The honorees — one boy and one girl from each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities. The recipients were chosen by a committee made up of MHSAA partners and school administrators.

Each of the 16 winners will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners like BankPlus, Mississippi Sports Medicine, Mississippi Farm Bureau, College Savings Mississippi and Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi.

The Scholar-Athlete awards were launched in 1996 to honor Mr. Lindy Callahan, a long-time athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School and an eight-time Hall of Fame inductee.

Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for 2021

District 1 GirlSaydee TaylorNew Site
District 1 BoyWill WayneCorinth
District 2 GirlKira FinkleyGrenada
District 2 BoyKyrodrick JeffriesHolly Springs
District 3 GirlAshleigh McKinneyCleveland Central
District 3 BoyMilton LubinCleveland Central
District 4 GirlEmma TaylorPhiladelphia
District 4 BoyJohn Cameron WrightMississippi School for Math and Science
District 5 GirlMarilyn TullosNewton County
District 5 BoyJaymar Jackson IILaurel
District 6 GirlClaire FarrarPearl
District 6 BoyIan McGeeFlorence
District 7 GirlKayci Beth WallaceBogue Chitto
District 7 BoyLarson LewisWesson
District 8 GirlIsabel LeathermanSt. Patrick
District 8 BoyKyle ForetichPass Christian


Check Also

Protected: 2024 Swim Rules Clinic

There is no excerpt because this is a protected post.