Lindy Callahan (right) with his wife Ann. Photo by Keith Warren

MHSAA announces Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for Class of 2020

Sixteen seniors from across the state have been selected as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for the Class of 2020.

The honorees — one boy and one girl from each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities. The recipients were chosen by a committee made up of MHSAA partners and school administrators.

Each winner will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners like BankPlus, Mississippi Sports Medicine, Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Mississippi, Farm Bureau and C Spire.

“Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes are among the best and brightest Mississippi has to offer,” MHSAA Executive Director Don Hinton. “This has been a difficult year and unprecedented last few months for our students in Mississippi, particularly the graduating seniors who have missed out on a number of sports, activities and events as their schools closed. We commend all 16 winners along with more than 150 nominees from throughout the state for their contributions and accomplishments that help demonstrate the value of school-based athletics and activities.”

The Scholar-Athlete awards were launched in 1996 to honor Mr. Lindy Callahan, a long-time athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School and an eight-time Hall of Fame inductee.

Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for 2020

District 1 GirlLakin HammItawamba AHS
District 1 BoyBlake KnippersCorinth
District 2 GirlRaegan StaffordDeSoto Central
District 2 BoyLogann CosseySouth Panola
District 3 GirlImani CampbellLeland
District 3 BoyDawson GrahamRiverside
District 4 GirlAddison MasonEupora
District 4 BoyBen BradleyNew Hope
District 5 GirlLucy GreenWest Lauderdale
District 5 BoyJohn Landon YoungMeridian
District 6 GirlShelby DeanClinton
District 6 BoyJayson WardPearl
District 7 GirlMorgyn BristerLoyd Star
District 7 BoyTriston LeeWest Lincoln
District 8 GirlMadison WalkerBiloxi
District 8 BoyYash PatelPass Christian


Check Also

2024 MHSAA Composite Football Schedule

Date Time Event Type Home Away Location 07-31-2024 07:00 PM Exhibition South Pontotoc High School …