Mississippi Mr. Football Awards announced for 2018

Six players — one from from each MHSAA classification — were selected Wednesday, November 7th as Mississippi Mr. Footballs for the 2018 season in a partnership with the New Orleans Saints, Mississippi High School Activities Association and the Mississippi Association of Coaches.

The winners were selected by a statewide committee of high school coaches and media who cover high school football:

Class 1A: Demarrius Turner, Simmons

Class 2A: Ty Keyes, Taylorsville

Class 3A: K.J. Jefferson, North Panola

Class 4A: Christian Allen, Mendenhall

Class 5A: Jarod Conner, Hattiesburg

Class 6A: Nakobe Dean, Horn Lake

Turner, a 6-0, 185-pound senior running back, has rushed 79 times for 1,219 yards and 12 touchdowns as the three-time defending 1A champion Blue Devils, 11-0, have stretched their winning streak to 51 games.

Keyes, a 6-0, 190-pound sophomore quarterback, has completed 180 of 266 passes for 3,204 yards with 36 TDs and 6 interceptions for the defending 2A champion Tartars, 12-0.

Jefferson, a 6-3, 225-pound senior quarterback, has completed 138 of 219 passes for 2,499 yards with 31 TDs and rushed for 818 yards and 7 TDs for the Cougars, 10-1.

Allen, a 5-11, 185-pound senior quarterback, has completed 83 of 141 passes for 1,480 and 21 TDs and rushed for 852 yards and 11 TDs for the Tigers, 10-1.

Conner, a 5-11, 210-pound senior quarterback, has completed 116 of 213 passes for 1,943 yards and 23 TDs and has rushed for 1,341 yards with 22 TDs for the Tigers, 11-0

Dean, a 6-1, 220-pound senior linebacker, has 134 tackles, 22 tackles for loss, 6 quarterback sacks and 3 interceptions for the Eagles, 11-0.

The Mr. Football selections from Class 6A, 5A, 4A, 3A, 2A and 1A will be recognized at a banquet in Hattiesburg on Thursday, November 29. The Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Mississippi Gridiron Classic State Football Championships are set for Nov. 30 and Dec. 1 at M.M. Roberts Stadium on the campus of the University of Southern Mississippi in Hattiesburg.


Check Also

Canton 56, Wayne County 41

Date: 2/27/2024 Arena: Time: 8:30 pm City, State: VISITOR: Wayne County ( ) TOT-FG 3-PT …