Three teams win first baseball titles

Six days of MHSAA championship baseball at Trustmark Park were highlighted by three teams winning their first state titles.

In Class 4A, Houston defeated Newton County 2-0, 1-9 and 14-3.

In Class 2A, East Union defeated Loyd Star 5-1 and 5-1.

In Class 1A, Tupelo Christian defeated Ethel 8-1, 3-5 and 5-4.

Three more teams added more state championship hardware to their baseball trphy case.

In Class 6A, Madison Central defeated George County 1-0 and 6-2 for a third title since 2002.

In Class 5A, Oxford defeated Hattiesburg 5-3 and 10-0 for a second straight title and third since 2005.

In Class 3A, Kossuth defeated St. Andrew’s 3-2 and 7-1 for a third title since 2013.

This year’s championships were sponsored again by Farm Bureau and Mississippi Sports Medicine and Orthopaedic Center.

Check Also

Taylorsville wins 2024 MHSAA Class 1A Baseball Championship

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E Taylorsville 0 3 2 1 …