Lindy Callahan (right) with his wife Ann. Photo by Keith Warren

MHSAA to honor Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for 2019

Sixteen seniors from across the state have been selected as Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for the Class of 2019.

The honorees — one boy and one girl from each of the MHSAA’s eight geographical districts — were chosen for their academic accomplishments as well as their participation in high school athletics and extracurricular activities. The recipients were chosen by a committee made up of MHSAA partners and school administrators.

Each winner will receive a $1,500 college scholarship through the support of MHSAA partners like BankPlus, Mississippi Sports Medicine, C Spire and Polk’s Meat Products.

The 16 scholar-athletes will be honored April 8th in Jackson at the 24th annual banquet.

The awards were created to honor Mr. Lindy Callahan, a long-time athletic director and coach at Gulfport High School and a six-time Hall of Fame inductee.

Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for 2019

District 1 GirlLindsey HillWest Point High School
District 1 BoyLuke OvertonTupelo High School
District 2 GirlGara Beth SelfIngomar Attendance Center
District 2 BoyTyler McGregorHickory Flat Attendance Center
District 3 GirlAhdis BerukGreenville High School
District 3 BoyPatrick DavisCleveland Central High School
District 4 GirlMadison WypyskiMississippi School for Mathematics and Science
District 4 BoyTyler HollandNeshoba Central High School
District 5 GirlSarah BrannanEnterprise High School (Clarke County)
District 5 BoyJames PrewittMeridian High School
District 6 GirlHayley BoundsPearl High School
District 6 BoyKennedy GuestBrandon High School
District 7 GirlKatherine WallaceBrookhaven High School
District 7 BoyWill McInnisWesson Attendance Center
District 8 GirlAmelie MillionSt. Patrick Catholic High School
District 8 BoyAndrew CrusanPass Christian High School

Check Also

East Webster wins Class 3A opener over West Marion

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 R H E East Webster 0 1 0 …