State Tournament





More than 50,000 basketball fans passed through the doors in eight days at the Mississippi Coliseum in Jackson to attend the MHSAA C Spire State Basketball Tournament.
Twelve teams earned gold balls as a reward for their state championship.
Murrahl (6A), Callaway (5A), Amanda Elzy (4A), Velma Jackson (3A), Baldwyn (2A) and Biggersville (1A) won boys titles.
Forest Hill (6A), Canton (5A), Bay (4A), SE Lauderdale (3A), Scott Central (2A) and H.W. Byers (1A) won girls titles.

2012 Tournament results 



Friday, February 24

Class 2A Girls New Site (55) vs. Bassfield (45) 

Class 2A Boys S.V. Marshall (61) vs. Williams-Sullivan (47)  

Class 2A Girls Taylorsville (50) vs. Walnut (60) 

Class 2A Boys Bay Springs (41) vs. Baldwyn (53)

Class 3A Girls Ripley (55) vs. Southeast Lauderdale (44)

Class 3A Boys Booneville (59) vs. Bailey (55)


Saturday, February 25

Class 3A Girls Choctaw Central (50) vs. Belmont (63)

Class 3A Boys Kemper County (62) vs. Aberdeen (58)

Class 1A Girls Byers (75) vs. Bogue Chitto (39)

Class 1A Boys Biggersville (64) vs. Durant (44)

Class 1A Girls Hinds AHS (43) vs. Coldwater (69)

Class 1A Boys West Lincoln (62) vs. Coldwater (67)


Monday, February 27

Class 4A Girls Pontotoc vs. Bay 1:00 p.m.

Class 4A Boys Corinth vs. Bay 2:30 p.m.

Class 4A Girls Forrest AHS vs. Lafayette 6:30 p.m.

Class 4A Boys Laurel vs. Amanda Elzy 8:00 p.m.

Tuesday, February 28

Class 5A Girls Oxford (60) vs. Wayne County (42)

Class 5A Boys Callaway (59) vs. Pascagoula (47)

Class 5A Girls South Jones (50) vs. Center Hill  (46) (OT)

Class 5A Boys Wayne County (50) vs. Starkville (36)


Wednesday, February 29

Class 6A Girls Horn Lake (46) vs. Forest Hill (58)

Class 6A Boys Tupelo (72) vs. Biloxi (56)

Class 6A Girls Hattiesburg (60) vs. Southaven (57) 

Class 6A Boys Gulfport (53) vs. Jim Hill (65)


Championship games

Thursday. March 1

Class 2A Girls Championship  New Site (56) vs Walnut (44)

Class 2A Boys Championship Baldwyn (37) vs S.V. Marshall (43)

Class 3A Girls Championship Kemper County (75) vs Booneville (65)

Class 3A Boys Championship  Belmont (39) vs Ripley (38)


Friday, March 2

Class 1A Girls Championship H.W. Byers (74) vs Coldwater (69)

Class 1A Boys Championship Coldwater (68) vs Biggersville (55)

Class 4A Girls Championship Ponotoc (72) vs Forrest County AHS (68)

Class 4A Boys Championship 8:45 p.m.


Saturday, March 3

Class 5A Girls Championship Oxford (62) vs South Jones (54)

Class 5A Boys Championship Callaway (54) vs Wayne County (44)

Class 6A Girls Championship Jim Hill (76) vs Tupelo (74)

Class 6A Boys Championship 




The MHSAA Network streamed all the games from the MHSAA – C Spire State Basketball Tournament and can be viewed on



Phone: 601-924-6400 | Fax: 601-924-1725 | EMAIL US
1201 Clinton-Raymond Road | P.O. Box 127 | Clinton, MS 39060
© 2011 Mississippi High School Activities Association