Lindy Callahan Scholarship

Lindy Callahan
Lindy Callahan (left), Ann Callahan (his wife).

Complete list of Lindy Callahan Award winners since 1996

The Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athlete Scholarship Awards are presented by the Mississippi High School Activities Association, and

  • Mississippi Power Foundation
  • C Spire Wireless
  • BankPlus
  • Adams and Reese
  • Frascogna Courtney
  • Athletic Services
  • Allen Beverages
  • Stewart, Sneed, Hewes
  • Bancorp South Insurance
  • Mississippi Sports Medicine & Orthopaedic Center

 Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athletes for Class of 2014 honored

JACKSON — Sixteen outstanding senior student-athletes from across the state of Mississippi were recognized Thursday during the 19th annual Lindy Callahan Scholar-Athlete luncheon at the Hilton Jackson Hotel.

Eight boys and eight girls were honored during the 90-minute event, which was livestreamed on the NFHS Network’s Mississippi channel (

The award’s namesake, Hall of Fame retired Gulfport athletic director Lindy Callahan, was in attendance along with his wife, Ann, and daughter, Lori Atherton.

Former MHSAA executive director Ennis Proctor, who helped start the scholar-athlete awards in 1996, also spoke during the banquet. Each of the district winners — chosen from more than 280 applicants — will receive a $1,500 college scholarship with the help of the program’s supporters: BankPlus, Mississippi Power Foundation; Mississippi Sports Medicine & Orthopaedic Center; Learning Through Sports; C Spire; Adams and Reese; Planned Benefit Services; Athletic Services; Allen Beverages; Stewart, Sneed, Hewes; and Bancorp South Insurance.

This year’s winners listed by district:

District 1 female: Bailey Boyd, Amory
District 1 male: Ashton Wedel, Tupelo
District 2 female: Janae Westbrook, Lafayette
District 2 male: Garrett Barnes, Olive Branch
District 3 female: Reya Hayek, Greenville St. Joseph
District 3 male: Blade Hodges, Riverside
District 4 female: Emily Mills, Noxapater
District 4 male: Jerrod Bradley, New Hope
District 5 female: Hannah Hampton, Quitman
District 5 male: Zachary Shelly, West Lauderdale
District 6 female: Jessica Milner, Ridgeland
District 6 male: Mark McMillin, St. Andrew’s
District 7 female: Lauren Wells, North Pike
District 7 male: Jonah King, West Lincoln
District 8 female: Kesi Bradley, Pascagoula
District 8 male: Kirk McCarty, Oak Grove





District I

Bailey Boyd, Amory

Ashton Wedel, Tupelo High School


District 2

Janae Westbrook, Lafayette

Garrett Barnes, Olive Branch


District 3

Reya Hayek, St. Joseph

Blade Hodges, Riverside


District 4

Emily Mills, Noxapater

Jerrod Bradley, New Hope


District 5

Hannah Hampton, Quitman

Zachary Shelly, West Lauderdale


District 6

Jessica Milner, Ridgeland

Mark McMillin, St. Andrew's


District 7

Lauren Wells, North Pike

Jonah King, West Lincoln


District 8

Kesi Bradley, Pascagoula

Kirk McCarty, Oak Grove

Phone: 601-924-6400 | Fax: 601-924-1725 | EMAIL US
1201 Clinton-Raymond Road | P.O. Box 127 | Clinton, MS 39060
© 2011 Mississippi High School Activities Association