Speech & Debate

Extemp Topics


2012-2013 Coordinating Committee 2012-2013 MHSAA COORDINATING COMMITTEE FOR SPEECH AND DEBATE MHSAA Coordinator for Speech and Debate: Scott Waldrop (Hattiesburg HS) 
Chair of the Mississippi Forensic League: Shane Cole (Oak Grove HS) 
Moderator of the Biloxi Catholic Forensic League: Kelly Garner (Petal HS) 
Moderator of the Jackson Catholic Forensic League: Sonya Harvey (Madison Central HS)  Coach from BCFL: Paul VanZandt (Sacred Heart Catholic School) 
Coach from JCFL: Darin Maier (St. Andrew’s Episcopal School) 
Alternate from BCFL: Jessica Wilkinson (Pascagoula HS) 
Alternate from JCFL: Alicia Robinson (New Albany HS) 
Coach from a program less than 5 years old: Barbara Lowe (Oxford HS)


Upcoming Events

Honorable Recognitions

Congratulations Brother Dennis Gunn, St. Joseph Catholic School 2010-2011 MHSAA Speech, Debate, and Theatre Educator of the Year.

Congratulations Stacy Howell, Ridgeland High School National Federation of High Schools, Region III Speech, Debate, and Theatre Educator of the Year

Cory Williams, a student at Hattiesburg High School, was named the 2010 National Forensic League Student of the Year. Cory Williams was also in the FINAL ROUND of Dramatic Interpretation at the tournament. He finished 6th in the event. He is the first Mississippi student to make it to the final round of a Main Event at NFL.  Cory Williams will attend Vanderbilt University.This is a huge honor for Mississippi! Cory will travel the country next year speaking on behalf of the NFL.

2011 Mississippi Forensic League District Team

Congratulations to Hattiesburg High School and Ridgeland High School for capturing national championships at the 2011 National Individual Events Tournament of Champions held at St. Mary's Hall in San Antonio, Texas, May 13-15.

76 schools from the across the nation participated in the tournament that showcases the country's best and brightest in interpretation events.

Kristen Dupard, Ridgeland High School, coached by Mrs. Stacy Howell, claimed first place in Dramatic Interpretation. 

Jaylen Easmond and Aaron Watson, Hattiesburg High School, coached by Mr. Scott Waldrop, took top honors in Duo Interpretation.

Phone: 601-924-6400 | Fax: 601-924-1725 | EMAIL US
1201 Clinton-Raymond Road | P.O. Box 127 | Clinton, MS 39060
© 2011 Mississippi High School Activities Association